Apr 19, 2024  
2019-2020 Catalog 
2019-2020 Catalog ARCHIVED CATALOG: Content may no longer be accurate.

College of Social & Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Julie Rich, Interim Dean

The College of Social and Behavioral Sciences is dedicated to studying behavior and thought in their individual, social, cultural, physical, and historical contexts, and to the beneficial application of this knowledge. The College prepares students for productive careers and engaged citizenship through general education instruction, and major, minor and interdisciplinary programs which emphasize critical and scientific thinking. Through teaching, scholarship, and service, the College’s faculty aims to enhance social justice, environmental awareness, and the quality of life in northern Utah and beyond.

Interim Dean: Dr. Julie Rich
Telephone Contact: Jenny Eckenbrecht 801-626-6232
Location: Lindquist Hall, Room 161

College Advisors: Nicholas Ferre, Stephanie Quinn
Telephone, Location: 801-626-7809, LH 158

Department Chairs/Directors

Criminal Justice: Dr. Brent Horn   801-626-6714
Geography: Dr. Eric Ewert   801-626-6197
History: Dr. Sara Dant   801-626-6706
Political Science & Philosophy: Dr. Thomas Kuehls   801-626-6694
Psychology: Dr. Aaron Ashley   801-626-6247
Social Work & Gerontology: Dr. Mark O. Bigler   801-626-6157
Sociology & Anthropology: Dr. Marjukka Ollilainen   801-626-6241

ROTC Units
Aerospace Studies: Lt Col Angelique P. Brown (SLC)   801-581-6236
  or contact the College of Social & Behavioral Sciences  
Military Science: Lieutenant Colonel Jason Webb   801-626-6518

Social Science Education Center

Director: Dr. Stephen Francis
Location: Lindquist Hall, Room 273
Telephone: 801-626-6781

The Social Science Education Center was initiated and organized in 1990 to promote, coordinate, and encourage social science education. The faculty of the College of Social & Behavioral Sciences, the College of Education, public and private schools and their respective districts collaborate in programs and activities designed to improve and enhance the teaching of the Social Sciences. This includes seminars for social science teachers in the area and presentations by Weber State University professors.

The Olene S. Walker Institute of Politics and Public Service

Director: Robert Hunter
Location: Lindquist Hall, Room 167
Telephone: 801-626-6206
Email: walkerinstitute@weber.edu

The non-partisan Walker Institute is committed to upholding the highest standards of American democracy and providing a visible and vibrant hub of political engagement for the Weber State University community. Through forums, workshops, seminars, symposiums and panel discussions, the Walker Institute strives to bring a better understanding of the political process to students and community members. The Walker Institute is dedicated to the training of future leaders by inspiring students to embrace public service and engaging them in internship opportunities at the local, state and national levels.

The Richard Richards Institute for Ethics

Director:  Dr. Richard Greene
Location: D2-137H (Davis Campus)
Telephone: 801-626-6694

The Richard Richards Institute for Ethics was established in 2007 in order to promote ethical leadership in both private industry and government.  It works to do so via outreach and education by offering scholarship opportunities to high school and college students, hosting workshops and ethics related activities for community members, and by acknowledging and honoring those leaders of our community who exemplify the highest ethical ideals and standards.

Departments and Programs


Master of Criminal Justice Program Go to MCJ website

Go to information for Master of Criminal Justice Program.

Department of Criminal Justice Go to CJ website

Go to information for Department of Criminal Justice.

Department of Geography Go to Geography website

Go to information for Department of Geography.

Department of History Go to History website

Go to information for Department of History.

Department of Political Science and Philosophy Go to Political Sci and Philosophy website

Go to information for Department of Political Science and Philosophy.

Department of Psychology Go to Psychology website

Go to information for Department of Psychology.

Department of Social Work and Gerontology Go to SW and GERT website

Go to information for Department of Social Work and Gerontology.

Department of Sociology and Anthropology Go to SOC and ANTH website

Go to information for Department of Sociology and Anthropology.

Military Science (Army ROTC) Go to Military Sci ROTC website

Go to information for Military Science (Army ROTC).

Aerospace Studies (Air Force ROTC)

Go to information for Aerospace Studies (Air Force ROTC).